What’s in a Name?

Shakespeare famously wrote, “What’s in a name? That which we call a rose, by any other name, would smell as sweet.” Well, sorry, Shakespeare, but in AmandaLand* there is a whole lot in a name, at least when it comes to naming a blog. Naming my original blog, The Moderate Wife, took me a couple of months last year when I decided I wanted to launch an online journal and attempted to come up with something creative that captured the essence of what I was seeking to communicate. Unfortunately, almost immediately after hitting “publish” on my first couple of posts, I realized fairly quickly that I hated it. What sounded fun and catchy when I was in the planning process suddenly grated on my ears. It didn’t encapsulate the heart of what I cared about and suddenly felt very confining. That was a total inspiration-killer, and I developed horrible writer’s block. After two months of thinking, I really need to just write, the name isn’t that important, but not making any mental progress, I finally decided to just move on, scratch the old blog, and start over.

This new name, Grace ‘n’ Goodness, has me re-inspired and ready to put fingers to computer keys once again! I hope all my words are gracious, and good things are the only the ones worth writing about anyway, right? Just kidding, that’s not where I came up with that name. Really, the reason behind naming this blog Grace ‘n’ Goodness is a passion to dedicate my life, and therefore my thoughts, to the amazing grace given to me in Christ. I believe with all my heart that it is only through the grace of God that we have access to the truly good life. Philosophers and theologians of old coined the phrase, “the good, the true, and the beautiful” to describe the ultimate desire of man’s heart. As a Christian, it is my prayer that I allow the Holy Spirit to shape my tastes and enhance my joy as I encounter each of those three things through the Word, Creation, and relationships. The reaches of God’s grace extend from the quiet moments when I am before Him in prayer and worship in the early morning into the afternoon when my caffeine high has worn off and I am correcting another math work sheet or changing the fifth diaper that day. God’s goodness is revealed to me in a plethora of moments, in innumerable ways, and I hope I get to share about some of them here. Thank you for coming along on this journey with me (again)!

I will be transferring and back-dating the few posts that I did share over at The Moderate Wife over to this blog in order to preserve the future blog book that I hope to make someday when I have written enough print-worthy posts to sit as an album on my coffee table!

*Thank you for that expression, friend… You know who you are! 😉

Leave a Reply

