About: Preaching to My Own Heart

I wanted to write a short introductory post behind the “Preaching to My Own Heart” series that I will be posting to as the Lord leads. Particularly in the early months of new motherhood when I was sleep-deprived and recovering from the physical taxation that pregnancy and birth put on my body, I had a very difficult time focusing due to that blessed brain fogginess otherwise known as “Mommy-brain.” Digging into the Word was no easy task, and I often found myself neglecting my scriptural studies out of discouragement that I didn’t seem to be getting anything out of it. Looking back, I wish I had had a book of short, truth-packed devotionals that would’ve been written in a way that was conducive to helping a fuzzy-brained mom focus and meditate throughout the day. Now, it is very possible that that book is out there and that I just haven’t heard of it! But so far in my limited experience, I have noticed that short devotionals written to women are often overly centered on us as people rather than on God and His precious truth. With this in mind, God has put it on my heart to write this series.

Each entry will be focused around a specific word or  short phrase to shape that day’s meditation. Even at the height of exhaustion, I can remember one word! Then there will be a corresponding scripture and some thoughts to inform my understanding of what that word means through the lens of God’s Word. Lastly, it will end with a worship song suggestion that can be listened to throughout the day to help me continue meditating on that day’s truth. While I am doing this first and foremost for my own heart, I pray that by sharing it here in this space that it will be of encouragement to you as well. Enjoy! And may, “the Word of Christ richly dwell in you,” (Colossians 3:16).

2 thoughts on “About: Preaching to My Own Heart

Leave a Reply

